How Old is Too Old?

21 May

Technically it’s my last night in Philly, but it’s not really. I’m moving out temporarily because my lease isn’t up until 1 July, but I have an internship beginning next week(!) in Ohio. Luckily, this gives me the ability to move out little by little and allows me to rent a smaller moving van for just my furniture instead of the massive amounts of “stuff” I’ve accumulated over the past 2 years. Holy hell – you can accumulate a lot of stuff in a 1 bedroom apartment.

Maybe it’s the cleaning fumes I’ve been inhaling during my frantic rush to pack stuff for Ohio, or maybe it’s the fact that I have a Master’s degree now (YESSSS!) but I’ve been thinking about growing up and growing older. Note: these are mutually exclusive events 🙂

In thinking about this topic, I’ve wondered, “When do I significantly decrease the amount of metal in my ears?” Quick refresher: I have 8 piercings – in each ear. 10 in my lobes, 1 industrial, 1 daith, 1 tragus, and 3 anti- or forward helix piercings. Side note: it’s really hard to find 10 matching lobe earrings at a student-friendly price made out of a decent material, so I’m forced to mix and match.

A picture reference of ear piercings

I love all of them and each one represents a different time in my life. I can remember why I got each one and with whom I went to the parlor – just like when people go to get tattoos. I have one of those too, but that’s for a different post.

I don’t want to take any of them out, but I’ve been thinking about how people perceive me with them in. While I could really give a sh*t what people think about my earrings, I do care if it prevents me from getting my dream job. On the flip side, I do care about being somewhat appropriate – I don’t have my earrings spell out cuss words or have demon insignia on them. My earrings don’t look trashy. I’m not a lawless hooligan, you know.

I’m in an interesting situation. My future job will be teaching at the college level, but I’m unsure of the norms and standards in that environment. I’m lucky now, because my job as a tutor is completely online – no one has to see my ears. That aside, is there an age where multiple piercings are no longer societally acceptable? Like when Moms wearing their daughter’s Ugg boots? That’s “no bueno.”

To look at it another way, I think my generation has made crazy, cool ear piercings more commonplace and therefore not frowned upon as in other generations. But when does it stop? Is there a cutoff age? Is it when you have your first real job? Is it if you become a grandparent? What do you think?

 

In the meantime, I think I’ll go buy some new earrings 🙂

 

3 Responses to “How Old is Too Old?”

  1. GSL May 21, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    So you are saying I should stop wearing uggs?

    Also, I forget you have them (the earrings). Once you establish your credibility as a professional, no one seems to care about ear metal or foot tattoos…of which I think you have both, non?:)

    • ::beezy:: May 21, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      Only if you wear Kate’s Uggs…. which I don’t see happening 🙂

      Also, true statement. I’ll do another post about tattoos when I go through another round of cleaning.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Human Juice Box / Tattoosday « beezypedia - July 24, 2012

    […] today because I’m considering getting a second tattoo. I haven’t had any sort of body modification since the spring of 2010, so I think I’m due for an update. I have the idea picked out and […]

Leave a Reply

