Baking is the Most Delicious Science

8 Jun

Today was French Press Friday at the office, where my supervisor brings in Starbucks coffee that he made in his French press. It’s the best. Whenever someone does something nice like that, I always feel the need to contribute – I feel like it’s my social responsibility to participate. This week, I decided to make chocolate chip scones, from scratch. Holy wow – they turned out better than I expected. Everyone in our department seems to like them, which makes me really happy.

Don’t they look delicious?!

I think the part that puts me in the best mood, is the fact that I got to bake last night. I love baking. When I make things from scratch, I seem to feel more pride about my work – knowing that I was able to create something great all by myself. It’s also really neat to look at different recipes and figure out what makes them different from all of the rest. For instance, the recipe I used to make my scones didn’t include eggs. Apparently, an egg in a scone recipe makes the scone dense. Mine called for buttermilk, which makes the scone lighter and fluffier – almost biscuit-like.

I love learning about how different ingredients affect the recipe and what some acceptable alternatives are. For instance, whenever I make a cake from a box mix, it usually calls for oil. If you replace the oil with the same amount of plain applesauce, it’s much healthier and I think it makes the cake taste even better.While I really do love the whole baking process, let’s be honest. The best part is really eating the final product.  🙂

2 Responses to “Baking is the Most Delicious Science”

  1. mydearbakes June 8, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    This is an interesting read =)

  2. Lauren June 11, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    No eggs? Really? I had no idea they were responsible for the density…

Leave a Reply

