Bi-lingual Curious

11 Jun

I work at an R&D facility that has a Japanese parent company, so the Japanese language and culture is very prominent here. My roommate with whom I was paired to live this summer (pretty much TheBomb.com) is a Japanese / English translator who grew up speaking both languages in her home. After hearing her speak with other translation associates and with Japanese-speaking associates, I realized that I need to learn another language. Yeah, I learned Spanish in high school and I’ve held on to the majority of it throughout my life, but I would love to actually use it. I’m really jealous that she gets to speak two languages every day!

We didn’t have a great deal of language options available at my undergrad, so I couldn’t take whatever language I wanted. My sister studied German for 4 years in college; that lucky bi-otch. I’d actually *really* love to learn German and be able to have conversations with her. If you don’t know already, my sister is kinda the best.

While I won’t be taking formal classes this summer, I’m going to try to learn as much about the Japanese culture and language as I can. Although I’ve only learned how to say “yes” in Japanese (it’s “hai”, if you’re wondering), I’m excited that I’ve at least started!

One Response to “Bi-lingual Curious”

  1. jbuckley528 June 11, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    Reason #2 to learn German: I am also learning German! Plus I’m imagining you speaking in a stern German accent and it’s scaring the shit out of me.

Leave a Reply

