Throwback Mid-Week Music Moment: “Go Your Own Way” by Fleetwood Mac

27 Jun

Time for a throwback, peeps!

Peeps!

Happy 35th birthday, Rumours! My dad was in college and my mom hadn’t graduated high school yet when this album came out, but I love this particular song just as much as if I had been there when it was released into the airwaves. It’s ranked number 120 on Rolling Stone’s list of the “500 Greatest Songs of All Time” and is on The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s “500 Songs that Shaped Rock and Roll” list. It is a monster of 70s rock.

I listened to this song on repeat yesterday: driving to WalMart and the grocery store; walking to the mail center and the gym; rocking out in my shower (I startled my roommate last evening…oops). Just a sweet, sweet repeat of Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks’ tense, reality-show-worthy chemistry. I remember hearing Glee do a cover of this song: please Rachel Berry – you don’t hold a candle to these fine rock stars.  I had an 8th grade English teacher who looked like a scarier, skinnier version of Stevie Nicks. Can’t remember her name for the life of me, but every time I see a picture of Nicks, I think about Ms. Whatsherface trying to relate Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar to modern day times to a bunch of 13-year-olds.

Prepare to have this song stuck in your heads today!

Leave a Reply

