Mid-Week Music Moment: “45” by The Gaslight Anthem

25 Jul
“But ‘better sense’ says…
‘Hey hey, turn the record over.
Hey hey, and I’ll see you on the flip side’.”

Another Wednesday, another bumpin’ MWMM post. This is such a great summer-y song. I think I like this song so much because I’m a sucker for great drumming skills or anything with a sweet, sweet beat. It’s also a reminder that you need to get over the b.s. that may have inundated your life.

Who remembers Story of the Year? Anyone? You, in the back? Well, I remember my sister and I diggin’ on them pretty hard. “45” is a *much* better song (I can’t emphasize this enough!), but the message and chord progression are similar to the awesomely angsty band we used to listen to. It reminds me of dancing around (or not dancing, when we were emo-kids) with my sister, thinking that my problems were soooo important. Oh, young Beezy. How much you’ve grown since then and “turn[ed] the record over.”

 

Enjoy!

One Response to “Mid-Week Music Moment: “45” by The Gaslight Anthem”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Adventures of Bob and Greta: Bring in Da Illinoize and Also, Time Permitting, Da Funk / A Day at the Races « beezypedia - August 13, 2012

    […] before, but Cynthia(shesareallycooldancer) was super excited to see them. Next, we made our way to Gaslight Anthem – I was super stoked to see them, especially after having them as a MWMM! After we had ceased […]

Leave a Reply

