Throwback Thursday: “Hey Ya” by The Blanks (opb Outkast)

26 Jul

It’s a very special Throwback Thursday, ladies and gentlemen. Time for a bitchin’ cover! It doesn’t seem like this song is that old, but according to Wikipedia, this song is almost 1 decade old (that sounds more fancy than 9 years…).

This song is awesome for a few reasons:

  1. I *love* re-invented songs. Sure, you can’t beat the original for a lot of the classics, but as we saw last week, you can always mix it up and keep it fresh. After being in an a cappella group for 4 years, I have heard my fair share of different artistic takes on some of the best songs. If you’re feeling sassy, check out NYU’s N’Harmonics performing Radiohead’s “High and Dry” and the UCLA Scattertones performing Van Morrison’s “Brown-Eyed Girl”. They are both f*cking phenomenal.
  2. Did you watch Scrubs? Of course you did. This song appeared in the episode when Janitor and Lady get married. As soon as I recognized what the song was, I was instantly hooked. This song makes me feel nostalgic – a time when I could be a wild, crazy, care-free adolescent. I feel like I watched Scrubs all the freakin’ time in college. Wanna procrastinate writing a lab report? Let’s just watch Scrubs. Hungover? We’re attempting to eat a plain bagel, drink some water, and watching Scrubs. Just break up with Jerky McJerkerson? We’re getting a pint of ice cream, a tube of cookie dough, and watching Scrubs [and also Erin Brockovich]. Just got done hotboxing in a car? You bet your sweet ass we’re watching Scrubs.
  3. You know you wanna “shake it like a Polaroid picture”. This was arguably the best part of the song. Every time the original song cam on the radio, I would dance to it like I was in the music video. I didn’t care that I looked like a raving lunatic in the car, in the grocery store, at a junior high / high school dance, etc.

So, my friends, enjoy “shaking it like a Polaroid picture” and have a freakin’ fabulous Thursday 🙂

One Response to “Throwback Thursday: “Hey Ya” by The Blanks (opb Outkast)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Throwback Thursday: Bonnie Raitt Cover Double Play « beezypedia - August 2, 2012

    […] Northeast Quarterfinals in Hartford, CT. They won the quarterfinal – big surprise, right? I know I’ve mentioned the N’Harmz before, so I won’t belabor the topic and I will let you get back to watching these videos, because they […]

Leave a Reply

