Why I Admire Ben Gibbard

14 Aug

 

I’ve been obsessed with Death Cab for Cutie’s 2008 album, Narrow Stairs. It’s quite a work of art. Along the same vein, I’ve had The Postal Service making its way into my headphones. Ben Gibbard, you crafty, clever bastard.

The year that Narrow Stairs came out was the same year that I battled a lot of demons in my life that really shaped who I am today. I can’t change what happened, but for the record, I’m really proud of the person that I have become in spite of everything. (If you’re interested, I’ll tell you about it sometime.) I know it sounds *incredibly* cliché to say that music helped me get through a really tough time, but it did ease a little bit of the total suck-tastic-ness that encompassed my life. I’m pretty sure I listened to “Cath…”, “No Sunlight”, (from DCfC) and “Such Great Heights” (from The Postal Service) more times than should be allowed in one day. After that year, I poured my soul into working like a freakin’ ox (I will never ford the river and die of dysentery – I’ll always take the ferry ::Oregon Trail reference FTW::), all the while being so grateful of the fact that my life would never be that terrible again.

Every time I hear “Such Great Heights” I can’t help but be filled with pure, unadulterated joy. It’s the same feeling I get when I see puppies, hear a baby’s laugh, wear warm clothes straight from the laundry, and other fun things I’ve mentioned previously. I think if I was stranded on a desert island with the ability to listen to only one song for the rest of my existence, that would be the song.

Recently, I came upon an old article about Señor Gibbard that pleasantly surprised me. The guy whose music I relied on for a musical distraction battled some (albeit different) demons too. While I’m nowhere near Gibbard’s marathon-running status, I hope to improve my 5K time this December and be ready for – oh boy – a 1/2 marathon within the next year or two.

It’s going to be difficult, but then again, nothing that’s really worth your time comes without a little effort, right?

What is worthwhile, is difficult. 🙂

2 Responses to “Why I Admire Ben Gibbard”

  1. TMatt August 14, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    Iron and Wine’s cover of Such Great Heights is my wired-in 100% rainy day jam.

    • ::beezy:: August 14, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      Love this cover. Great call. 🙂

Leave a Reply

