Gypsies, Tramps, and Thieves

20 Aug

“Your Gypsy Name is Philana, meaning Loving”

Childish Gambino got his rap name from a Wu Tang Clan  name generator, so I thought I could find my gypsy name that way. I have been a gypsy this summer. 

If you remember, I traveled all around the Northeast and Midwest this summer. When I left Philly (the first time) my odometer read 73,338. Currently, back home in Upstate NY, my odometer says 82,123. That’s right – I’ve driven almost 10,000 miles this summer! Here is an outline of my adventures:

  1. Philly to Home – goodbye Villanova!
  2. Home to CBus – started my new internship 🙂
  3. CBus to Home – Tayls and John got married!
  4. Home to Philly – yeah… I still had a *lot* of stuff left there… (Thank you for your help, Josh!!!)
  5. Philly to Home – my mom’s garage is now the proud holder of all my sh*t.
  6. Home to CBus – gotta finish my internship!
  7. CBus to Chicago – Lollapalooza, bitches!
  8. Chicago to CBus – wow, I am exhausted…
  9. CBus to Home – what??!?! Do I *have* to go???

And now, number 10: Home to Buffalo. Buffalo is going to be my home for the next 4 years (…oh boy…). I’ll be packing up all of my earthly belongings (again!) and moving to Buffalo on Wednesday. I’ll be honest – I’m not particularly fond of the city, but I know that I’ll meet some great people and learn some great things. Also, they say it’ll take 4 years, but I’m going to do everything in my power to finish it sooner. I’m not getting my hopes up, but I’m going to work harder than a one-armed wallpaper hanger. I’ll work harder than a one-legged man in a butt-kicking contest. I don’t know why all of my working analogies have an appendage missing… I need to work on that.

Just know that when I go on the job market in 3 years, I’ll be looking to move back to the Midwest 🙂

3 Responses to “Gypsies, Tramps, and Thieves”

  1. GSL August 20, 2012 at 11:24 pm #

    UNO = Midwest:) see ya in 2014!!

  2. Tyler August 20, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

    You know- people I think become to fixated on cities on the coast (East or West) as the epicenter of culture and all that is cool, and seem to think most to all midwest cities are podunk, backwater towns. But after travelling around the country, I think some of the most fun and best planned cities exist in the Midwest. Of course there is Chicago, but a lot of other understated cities like Louisville, Madison, and even way out West to places like Salt Lake City (no, it’s not completely Mormon. Trust me theres fun to be had there) offer diverse music scenes, good schools, and of course plenty of places to eat good food and drink yourself stupid. Not to mention, a couple hours outside a lot of those cities and you are in sparsely populated, beautiful wilderness- something that cant be said for a lot of East coast cities. Keep spreading the word- the Midwest can be and is most often awesome

    • ::beezy:: August 21, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      Thanks Tyler!! I think after living on the East Coast for so long, it was a breath of fresh air to be in the Midwest. You’re right – I totally discounted it at first, but even after living there for less than a week, I knew it was a really special place. I can’t wait to go back!!
      Good luck in your new North Carolina adventure!

Leave a Reply

