IAMA PhD Student

29 Aug

(My fellow Redditors will get the reference 🙂 )

Sorry for dropping off the face of the earth recently – I’m currently in the middle of my first week as a PhD student at the University at Buffalo. Surprisingly, this city isn’t as awful as I thought it was going to be. There’s a hipster-y section that is really nice to go out and have fun in. Also, in comparison to the size of the city, Buffalo has a decent selection of interesting foods to go and try. The program is tougher and more rigorous than initially expected, but I’m just going to do what I have to do and power through. Improvise, adapt, overcome.

Here’s what I’ve learned so far:
– Toothpaste studies are known for being done in prisons because they have a population that they can track over a long period of time.
– ASQ articles are really dry and boring.
– Getting a PhD in Management and OB is, so far, mastering the ability to read the English language until your eyeballs fall out. Seriously though, I’ve read more in the last week than I’ve read in the last 5 months. No rest for the wicked.
– Working in a coffee shop works for me. The music, other people’s conversation, and the coffee machine noises all blend together to create a white noise that actually helps me read and comprehend what I’m reading.

I’ll keep trying to update on a semi-regular basis to let everyone know that I haven’t just crawled in a corner to die or anything like that. Also, I’m hoping that continuing my creative writing will allow me to become a better scientific author, because really, if you look at it, writing academically is writing creatively. You have to come up with a way to express your idea about a topic in a way that is engaging for someone else to read.

I have a sweet MWMM that I wanted to post last week, but couldn’t due to my moving to a different zip code. I’ll try and post that today 🙂

2 Responses to “IAMA PhD Student”

  1. jbuckley528 August 29, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    I’m glad you don’t think Buffalo is awful. 🙂

  2. GSL August 29, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    Nice Cage the Elephant reference; I believe I dedicated that to you on your birthday last year. This year might need to be “Carry On” by fun. First semester is the most difficult; don’t let the man break you/see you sweat.

Leave a Reply

