They Say It’s Your Birthday

31 Aug

“And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.”
– Abraham Lincoln

Today, I am 24 years old. I’ve spent 24 years being so ecstatic that I could cry, and being so despondent that I actually have. I’ve met some amazing people who have brought great value and meaning to my life and let go of the people who want to bring me down. Thank you, if you are one of the people who has been amazing to me. You’ve given me a great birthday gift just by being wonderful! Within the past 5 years, I have really found a true zest for life and really appreciate everyday that I’m alive.

This birthday, I’ll be spending my time with my new Buffalo friends who understand my plight as a PhD student. They are pretty awesome. While this will not be my most “fun” birthday (unless you’re the type of person who gets really jazzed about reading and summarizing articles that deal with studying organizational behavior topics, such as leadership, with regards to context), it will be a memorable one. I don’t remember the last time I worked this hard and here’s to hoping I’ll have the stamina to make it through my first semester.

I’m a bit overwhelmed with all of the work I have (I actually questioned if I had eaten dinner and went to the restroom today… Scary. Don’t worry- I’m still showering and even wearing makeup!), but it is going to be *incredibly* worthwhile knowing that I have increased my research ability just a little bit more. I’m already coming up with ideas for papers that I know I will eventually have a honed skill set to help me see a potential study from start to finish. I can’t wait until I’m really good at this stuff.

 

And so, because it’s my birthday and I get to do whatever I want on my birthday (it’s Federal law – look it up), I’ll leave you all with a song. It’s the first song I listened to after midnight and my very favorite Pearl Jam song.

Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

