Mid-Week Music Moment: “Parentheses” by The Blow

17 Oct

“Even diligent day takes relief every day from its work making light from the night.

And when you’re holding me, we make a pair of parentheses.”

 

Thanks to the majesty of Pandora and my suh-weet music collection acting as the soundtrack to my “SuperStudyFest 2012”, I successfully passed my first PhD-level seminar exam. It was one essay prompt and I had to defend my answer using as many references to articles as I could remember. Yes, I had to memorize the information for all of the articles I’ve read so far this semester – all 52 of them. And you know what? I did. I memorized all 52 of them and can recall them. I was able to accurately cite 23 articles on my exam – those are all of the ones that were relevant to the topic. When I got out of the exam, I felt like my brain had been processed in a blender right in front of me.

I came across this little gem of a song when I was a freshman in college and thought, “I love punctuation!” I remember my sassy gay friend, who lived one floor below me, would come up and we would listen to this song while I did Physics homework and he busted out some Intro to Engineering Analysis stuff. Sometimes reminiscing can be sorrowful – longing for a time where, due to hindsight, everything was *so* much easier. However, memories of rockin’ out to music are happy memories and give me the spark to dance around in my room or office. When my office-mates aren’t here, that is.

Oh, who am I kidding? I dance in my office at any chance I get. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

