It’s About Survival / Dating Dislike

6 Dec

As of 9:30pm EST this very evening, I will have completed all of my classes of my first semester as a PhD student! My last final is the 17th, so I’m not counting my chickens before they hatch. Also, I don’t own chickens.

The past few weeks have been hell for a few reasons.
1. I miss the sh*t out of my sister. She gives the best advice and it’s sad to not be able to hug her after she’s done dealing a hefty dose of a reality check.
2. The other person in my cohort is thinking of quitting.
3. There’s only enough time to get it done – not to make it perfect. As a raging perfectionist, I’m getting a really valuable life lesson to calm my sh*t down. It’s not about achievement – it’s about survival.

I’ll be honest – I thought about quitting this past week. I thought about going to cosmetology school instead. You see, one of my stress relief tactics is shopping at Sephora – not the healthiest for my wallet, but my skin looks great and I’m kick-ass at liquid eyeliner now. But then I thought about the office job I would get instead – because that’s what I’m most qualified for at this point – and immediately went back to my research. I cannot work in an office. Even though it’s super stressful, this is really the environment where I belong. I’m gonna stick it out for the long haul. I like Buffalo, my new friends are awesome, and I like who I’ve become. I like everything here.

Well, there is *one* thing I dislike – people who say they had a nice time on your date and then never talk to you again.

Really? Caution: it’s about to get straight-up cranky in here.

I’m a person who is very quick to appreciate others and I’m optimistic about my future. I’m honest about how I feel and very empathetic. I tell people how I feel about them. My guard is usually down. When you tell me that you enjoyed spending time with me, I believe you and I get my hopes up. 2012 has *not* been my year for relationships. Luckily, 2013 is right around the corner. I know the right guy who will love all of me is out there somewhere – it’s just going to take me a little bit longer to find him. Or have him find me 🙂
I’m not looking for pity, but rather to educate. If you don’t want to date someone anymore, tell them. Believe me, they’ll appreciate it more if you buck-up and just say what’s on your mind. Oh my blog – I sound like my mother.

I think I’ll just marry myself – I know we’ll be really happy together. Also, I’m registered at Target, Crate & Barrel, and – of course – Sephora. 😛

Leave a Reply

